Navigation Menu+

Personal development Standards 2

Lighthouse Fostering – Training Support and Development Standards

From April 2011 everyone had online access to ‘The Children’s Social Care Professional Training Learning Pathways Model’ developed by the CWDC (Children’s Workforce Development Council). The model detailed and provided signposts to the most common recommended and possible qualifications and Continued Professional Development opportunities for professionals within the childcare workforce.

You maybe aware of the Children’s Workforce Development Council (CWDC) that was launched in 2007. These standards provided a national benchmark for training and development for foster carers which they were expected to meet within 12 months of approval.

The CWDC ceased to exist on the 31st March 2012 but the Training Support and Development Standards (TSDS) remain and are now part of the national strategy supported by the Department of Education.

The Training Support and Development Standards form part of a foster carers Induction. They provide a national minimum benchmark that sets out what foster carers should know, understand and be able to do within the first 12 months of being approved as full-time foster carers and 12-18 months for support carers and family & Friends carers.

Completion of the TSD Standards is a REQUIREMENT for ALL approved foster carers in England and is referenced within the National Minimum Standards for Fostering Services 2011. Ofsted will assess Lighthouse Fostering on our progress in implementing these standards and all training/learning opportunities across our organisation.

At the bottom of this page there is a frequently asked questions (FAQ’s) section. If you require further information or clarification please see this section or contact Kate Hamilton-Harris Director.


Completion of the Standards

If you have completed the CWDC Standards you do NOT have to complete the TSD Standards. BUT, you will be required to attend our core mandatory training at the intervals stated and attend the events that have been identified as learning objectives in your PDP (Personal Development Plan).

The TSD Standards underpin the pre-approval induction training (Skills to Foster Preparation Training) and foster carers can use this preparation training and the approval processes to evidence meeting the standards. This preparation training has been developed against the standards.

When completing the Form F assessment (stage 2 of the assessment process) foster carers will be required to record evidence against the standards. This will be undertaken with assistance from the Form F assessor.

Foster Carers will also be supported to complete the Department of Education (DFE) Training and Support Development Standards. (TSD’s)

The Standards are:

  • Standard 1: understand the principles and values essential for fostering children and young people
  • Standard 2: understand your role as a foster carer
  • Standard 3: understand health and safety, and healthy care
  • Standard 4: know how to communicate effectively
  • Standard 5: understand the development of children and young people
  • Standard 6: safeguard children and young people (keep them safe from harm)
  • Standard 7: develop yourself

Attendance at the core training events will enable carers to have evidenced that they have undertaken the required learning for several of the TSD standards.

Foster carers will have a workbook which is a tool to help you plan, gather and record evidence of your learning and development. Your Supervising Social Worker (SSW) will assist and support you in the planning and completion of your workbook.

In your day to day role as a carer, will be an excellent way to provide evidence along with the use of a diary to reflect on what you have done, what worked, what didn’t, what skills you used etc will all contribute when compiling evidence.

Witness statements and discussions during your supervision visits can all be used as evidence towards meeting the standards.

Related video

tandem kayak- My personal collection for 2014
tandem kayak- My personal collection for 2014
2 Sides of the Success Formula: Non-Negotiable Standards
2 Sides of the Success Formula: Non-Negotiable Standards ...


Identify 2 standards of personal development in social care work? | Yahoo Answers

Here's 8, see

Related facts

  • PCX is an image file format developed by the now-defunct ZSoft Corporation of Marietta, Georgia. It was the native file format for PC Paintbrush (PCX = "Personal Computer eXchange") and became one of the first widely accepted DOS imaging standards, although it has...

Related Posts